iOS 11 has introduced a Snapchat loophole that is allowing people to secretly record other users’ snaps 

74

Apple’s new iOS 11 update has introduced an iPhone feature that has unsettling ramifications for Snapchat users.

The operating system’s new screen record function is allowing some Snapchat users to record other people’s snaps without alerting them.

The app allows users to share photos and videos, called snaps, which disappear after a set amount of seconds, and screen-grabbing other people’s snaps is generally considered poor etiquette.

Until now, the only way to capture some else’s snap was via a screenshot, after which users received a notification alerting them that their photos or videos had been screen-grabbed.

This week iOS 11 introduced a screen record button in the iPhone command centre, which lets people make video recordings of what they are doing and seeing on their screen.

Some Snapchat users have reported that the app is sending a screenshot notification when screen record is used while viewing someone else’s snaps.